One Year, pt. 5

Q: But wait Tom, where are parts 3 and 4?

A: Some posts turn out not to be distinguishable enough in the long run to be worth posting.

Now, it may seem like an insignificant distinction to others that I chose not to post everything that I’ve ever written, but if there are more lessons to be learned over the years… one big lesson for me has been patience.  Being patient is not something that I’m particularly good at (and I partly blame society), but sometimes, it’s a good thing to sit back and let life simmer.

Resuming where I left off, and a month into this post(s), there are plenty of lessons that I’m sure the world would love to hear about.  However, I don’t have the real desire to share all of them, because in the end, they are lessons better left to be learned through one’s own experience than they are lessons that can be read from any professional’s website (I’m looking at you, Thought Catalog!).

However, one of the biggest boons of being a part of the Los Angeles and UCLA community is that it has afforded me many opportunities to try new things.  Food, music, shows, art, outdoors, etc.  I suppose that I would continue to have new experiences no matter where I landed my feet after graduate school, but the reality is that Los Angeles is a very different place than Michigan.  And it’s a space out of a comfort zone that professionals can strive for, if they seek it like I have.

In order to wrap up these reflections (which really means that I’ve lost the interest in posting about it any further), I thought I’d share some of the pictures that I’ve taken since arriving here in LA.

Back in the Mountains (Angeles National Forest)
Back in the Mountains (Angeles National Forest)
Downtown LA (after visiting "Unique LA")
Downtown LA (after visiting “Unique LA”)
Making Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal cookies for my coworkers
Making Chocolate-Chip Oatmeal cookies for my coworkers
For a few months, I rode 16 miles a day to commute on a bicycle older than me!
For a few months, I rode 16 miles a day to commute on a bicycle older than me!
...And continued to go to Renaissance Festivals
…And continued to go to Renaissance Festivals
The Pacific Design Center
The Pacific Design Center
UCLA Class of 2013!
UCLA Class of 2013!
Visits to San Diego
Visits to San Diego
Space Shuttle Endeavour
Space Shuttle Endeavour
The Getty Center
The Getty Center
And of course, the Griffith Observatory
And of course, the Griffith Observatory

Truly, the glorious part of moving to a new part of the country is experiencing the cultural institutions, the people, and contributing to it as if you have been there all along.  Until the next urge to reflect (on this blog) hits, that’s all for now.

Leave a comment