I promised my dad we’d hike…

A week or so ago, as I realized that my life may take me places that I never thought I might go, I made a promise to my dad that I fully intend to keep.  I told him, that in the next 10 years, we should hike the entire Appalachian Trail from start to finish.

While I certainly think it’s cool to hike such a glorious path from Maine on down to Georgia, it also reminds me of how far I’ve come with building relationships, as an individual, as a man, as a son.  Until I was20-21 years old, I don’t think there was really ever a point in my life where I thought I would leave the state of Michigan, spend a lot of time outdoors, etc. I didn’t really know what to expect out of life.  I didn’t really know anyone that did, either.

But as I got older, the why I built relationships changed.  I don’t think that I was very close with my family growing up, or at least if I was, I was conscious about it.  I just didn’t talk about things with my mom or my dad.  And as the youngest of four children, one might think I’d talk to my three older siblings.  Nope.  Didn’t happen.  Now, however, and as these relationships change, I practically lean on my family for guidance, for support, and simply just to have fun in life.

I think what changed the most is understanding who I am as a person.  While I understand that I’ll never stop growing, I know enough about who I am today that it’s important to reach out to family.  Friends are great, some of them I hold just as near and dear to my heart, but family is really, really, important for me.  It’s interesting though, to sit here and write a blog post about this, because four or five years ago, I’d never imagined I’d have come this far.  And now look at how far I plan to go.

AT

One thought on “I promised my dad we’d hike…

Leave a Reply

