Social Media Challenges

I find it challenging to constantly update myself on the latest social media trend. This blog, for example, seems to be the culmination of wanting to maintain a website, a twitter, a tumblr, a flickr, facebook, and a variety of other web X.0 movements.  However, all of the different varieties of social media have one theme in common: they can be whatever I want them to be, as long as they conform to what I want.

For me, this means that there is no going back; I have chosen to maintain a blog and give up trying to maintain the rest.  We will see how this one goes.  For now, I’m simply going to catch up this blog with the last of my pictures and attempt to recreate a year’s photostream like I had in three places (facebook, flickr, and tumblr).  It’s entirely interesting that I place so much pressure on something like this.  For my generation, it certainly seems that we spend a lot of time and placing a lot of stock into social media. For myself, I would agree with that statement.

-Tom

Leave a Reply

